A Momentous Day

FallLeavesThis Monday was the first day that I thoroughly enjoyed in a long while.

I didn’t do anything different.

S@rah went to preschool in the morning.  I went with S@m to kindergarten.  We picked up one of his classmates for our carpool.  5tephen stayed at home with a friend with whom I have a child care swap.  We all descended back home at the same time, right after lunch.  5tephen took a nap.  S@rah didn’t.  We had dinner together as a family.  Got the kids ready for bed.

A standard issue Monday.

But it was different for me.  I didn’t just get through the day.  I enjoyed it.  And I enjoyed it while I was going through it.

There were a couple of things that I had going for me.

1. I got the chance to slow down.  There was a moment when I chose not to unpack backpacks, wash the dishes, do the laundry, or do any of the other things that “needed to get done”, and instead sat outside on the grass with 5tephen, enjoyed some extended time in the sun, and watched the other kids rake leaves.  Which leads to the other thing…

2. I was more engaged in the present moment that I had been in a long time.  I wasn’t constantly thinking about the next thing.  I wasn’t distracted by my iPad all the time.  Instead, I noticed what was going on in front of me and I jumped in.  It sounds completely ridiculous as I type it out.  Like it’s so obvious.  And it is.  But it’s so hard for me to do.

And yet, as I discovered on Monday, the payoff is that I get a thoroughly enjoyable day.

Well, some of the time.  I tried it again yesterday, but a child who shall remain nameless could not find a particular article of clothing in the morning, and that sense of disappointment stuck for most of the day.  Such is the life with young kids.

One response to “A Momentous Day

  1. Pingback: Link of the Week – Margin | Living! Life. Together?·

Leave a Reply

