Rest & Hobbies

During my last couple of years of being a pastor, one of the few themes I kept coming back to was the idea of rest.  I preached sermons telling people that they need to rest and that God commands it.  Once a month, we didn’t put together a Sunday morning gathering so that all of us could simply rest.

Simple idea.  But as we discovered, it was ridiculously hard to do.  It was hard to run counter to our surrounding culture, to choose to stop and rest.

I found help though from an unexpected source.  My smoker.

A couple of Christmases ago, I got a smoker and found myself a hobby.  I wanted a smoker because of dearth of good barbeque in the South Bay.

But I’ve been sticking with it because it’s a restful process for me.  Cook times are measured in hour increments.  Low and slow, slows me down.

An all-too-brief photo log of last weekend’s obsession/hobby/Sabbath rest:

A rub I'm tinkering with consisting of paprika, brown sugar, black pepper, salt, and dry mustard.

A rub I’m tinkering with consisting of paprika, brown sugar, black pepper, salt, and dry mustard.

The pork shoulder after sitting in the fridge overnight with the rub.

The pork shoulder after sitting in the fridge overnight with the rub.

Shoulder is wrapped in foil and a towel and put in the cooler after it's smoked for 12 hours.

Shoulder is wrapped in foil and a towel and put in the cooler after it’s smoked for 12 hours.

The product before it is shredded.

The product before it is shredded.

The remains.  I forgot to take a picture of it shredded.  I got too excited.

The remains. I forgot to take a picture of it shredded. I got too excited.

Leave a Reply

